The Kite Runner – comparison

In this blog post I am going to compare the book and the movie with the same name, The Kite Runner, and reflect a little upon my thoughts of the book and the movie.

Both the movie and the book, The Kite Runner, almost follow the same storyline from the start to the end. However, in the book you get a more profound and detailed insight in the main characters lives. I think the book uses more complex and expressive reflections to show the reader the characters emotions and to create a definite atmosphere. The movie on the other hand, creates the same connections and emotions to the audience through a set of special effects and music.

Also, the movie leaves out a lot of chapters from the book. A huge part of the plot in the book is concentrated around Amir’s childhood and the relationship between Amir and Hassan. I feel like the movie didn’t have enough time to emphasize this bond and left out key elements from the book to develop our feelings for them.

Nevertheless, personal I think the movie managed to draw attention to the different themes and amplified my emotions to the story. The Afghani culture and landscape in the movie gave me a better picture of the issues, and the rape scene made me sympathize more in the movie than the book. Overall, I think the book and the movie are both good.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Good comparison of the advantages of both the book and the film:)

    Like

Leave a comment